Here's something for you people who probably think I'm MAGA.
Dude can go to hell. He was cool when Tesla was doing cool shit and it looked like it was because of him. Now that it's become obvious over the years he's a grifter who sells people with way too much money dreams, bros lame af.
First off: I've always been critical of college educated programmers/"software engineers". Always. I was 17 years old in my room, 2 years out of HS, and competing with kids who had degrees for PHP and MySQL related projects. Shit, I remember one time I was on a Morrowind/Oblivion mod team, and they couldn't tell me what they needed far as assets go (3d models). I put together what I could, and it was sometimes ugly. I was completely self taught and had 6 months experience with Blender. For the most part though I got shit done, and a lot of people were pretty supportive except this one dude.
This one dude had a raging hateboner for me. He brought in "his friend" with a college degree in game design or animation or some shit, and out of curiosity I ask to see his models cause I only had experience in Blender. I import them into Blender and notice half the fucking normals are facing the wrong way. In simple terms, that means the texture would have black spots/no texture information at all in those spots. Bro had me fixing them while he did absolutely nothing for the team. I ended up quitting and told them they couldn't use my assets. Few months later he's DMing me apologizing, asking for permission to use the models, and so on. College boy couldn't do shit.
I saw it a lot in college too. People who scraped by CS 1xx by memorizing syntax (if they got that far) and failing to actually conceptualize anything. They wouldn't take me seriously because I had never worked in the industry formally until they were failing and our PhD professors were sending them my way. Then like Jesus turning water into wine I was supposed to teach these people how to program so they could pass 2xx-3xx level classes. If you barely skate by in Python, IDK what to tell you.
I got into college in my 30s. So I had a lot of experience in programming, game design, etc that people wrote off because I was working in an Amazon warehouse.
Anyway, this bozo Musk was saying in an old clip that all you need is an engineering background, a few friends, a concept, and to pitch it to venture capitalists to start a business. Most academic engineers aren't like Steve Woz for a reason. Integrating shit, differentiating shit, and determining infinity is 1/2 isnt' the same skill as actually creating shit. Whether that's programming, engineering related, or music.
Turns out his degree is in Economics so he wouldn't know shit about engineers anyway. You ask me they're lazy as fuck, and I know programmers who went to big name state schools who'd tell you they aren't the programmer I am. I've had nuclear engineers who went to those big name schools ask me if AI was ever going to be sentient, and so on. On LinkedIn, I have actual professors who network with me in the AI realm.
Bro is a fucking retard. Most people don't even fail engineering majors because they're stupid. They fail them because they don't have the connections to land an internship or coop. Try being poor with no connections to the field and tell me it's any different than trying to be an actor/actress or musician or anything else that takes luck to get your foot in the door, and work to maintain your status. If you're honest you can't. You can even look at Musk for that because he's a nepo baby himself. Not to mention Thiel is more often than not the evil genius behind all the shit he's doing. Side note: I know Descartes argued that Evil Geniuses don't exist, but Thiel is very real.
And now let's talk autonomous AI because that's Musk's pivot from Mars. No idea where he'll take shit from here, but his detractors are as stupid as he is. The only difference is that one side is right.
Hurr durr Turning Test right?
Try Chalmers' Hard Problem of Consciousness instead.
All the Turning Test is about is about robots fooling humans into thinking they're human. That doesn't prove jack shit. Give me an english major, a little bit of time, an we could probably create a very static prompt that would pass the test. It probably wouldn't even resemble AI in the most rudimentary form, although I know enough ML algorithms to bullshit my way through that test if necessary.
Chalmers asked a bigger, more important question. It asked about the nature of Qualia. Where does it come from? How does it interact with the body? Qualia are related to perceptions and shit. You can google it for a precise definition. It's our memory, WHY things make us happy or sad, and not just simply dopamine.
To put it differently: Why isn't our memory physical like a database? IF it is, where precisely is everything we know stored? Our preferences for food, drinks, and actual knowledge. Where is every atom of that knowledge physically stored, if it is? If it isn't, and the easiest to defend position is that it isn't, then how does it interact with the body?
The idea that everything is physical is as you can imagine Physicalism. The other where there's a non-physical realm where shit exists in dualism.
If we can't access this non-physical place to store qualia or information, then we don't know how it gets to where it is or how it comes to us. So, in order for someone like Musk to make an autonomous AI a few things would need to be true:
Absolutely everything would need to be physical, and instead of simply triggering qualia through brainwaves, electricity, etc, we'd need to be able to alter them, wipe them, etc like in that Spotless Mind movie. Except, without damaging the brain incase that's what happens in the movie. The mind should be accessible without harming the brain because they're both connected, but physical objects.
If the mind is non-physical then we need to know how it exists and operates with respect to the brain. AFAIK we don't. AFAIK we probably won't ever know.
These "educated" engineers and liberals who disagree with him though are so "educated" they get stuck at the Turning Test. Shits as fucking retarded as Musk.
The only point of all this is to say he's wrong. Engineers are fucking retarded too. Ava in Ex Machina wasn't human because she could fool that guy. She was a robot designed to fool humans and performed her task as a robot would be expected to perform it. It just so happens the actress had a nice body. I'm sure she's a solid actress too, IDK. All that said, shits not as edgy as Redditards or dumbass engineers think it is. It's not as deep as they think either.
You people - both sides - are fucking retarded.
AI isn't going to be sentient.
LLMs are absolutely AI that perform math really badly.
Musk is a lying uneducated asshole good at separating people from their money.
People who think Ex Machina is deep are dumbasses who need to read up on Property Dualism and The Hard Problem of Consciousness.
And FWIW I had a stroke once due to a birth defect. Still recovering from a surgery too.
IDK why I waste my time though. All you'd fire back with is some mickey mouse donald duck bullshit.
I need some Afroman.
anonymousPolitical March 27, 2026 at 12:40 am01
Rant Tags
Get Social and Share